Overseas Study Advisory Council

2019-20 Overseas Study Advisory Council

The Overseas Study Advisory Council, appointed by the Vice President for International Affairs and chaired by the Associate Vice President for Overseas Study, is authorized by the President of Indiana University to review and approve all proposals for programs from any IU campus involving Indiana University students abroad. This quality control ensures that programs have appropriate planning, implementation and oversight. 


David Audretsch
Director, Institute for Development Strategies
Distinguished Professor, O’Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs

Priscilla Barnes
Associate Professor, School of Public Health

Susan Carty (ex-officio)
Director of Administration and Program Management
Office of Overseas Study

Joseph Coleman
Professor of Practice
The Media School

J. César Félix-Brasdefer
Professor, Spanish and Portuguese and Interim Director of Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies

Matthew Hottell
Senior Lecturer
School of Informatics, Computing and Engineering

Hilary Kahn
Associate Vice Chancellor IUPUI
IU Associate Vice President for International Affairs

Stacie King
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Department of Anthropology

Jennifer Lee
Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs
Associate Professor, Herron School of Art and Design

Stephanie Leslie (ex-officio)
Director of Study Abroad
Office of International Affairs

Jawshing Arthur Liou
Herman B Wells Endowed Professor
School of Art, Artchitecture + Design

John Nieto-Phillips
Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion and
Associate Professor, History

John Parrish-Sprowl
Director, Global Health Communication and Resource Center and
Professor, Communications Studies

Joshua Perry
Chair, Undergraduate Business Program
Glaubinger Chair for Undergraduate Leadership
Kelley School of Business

Cathrine Reck
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Clinical Professor, Department of Chemistry

Beth Samuelson
Associate Professor
School of Education

Kathleen Sideli (Chair)
Associate Vice President for Overseas Study

Karla Stouse
Senior Lecturer in English and Humanities
IU Kokomo

Frank Wadsworth
Head, Division of Business
Professor of Marketing and International Studies
IUPU Columbus

Lisa Fetheringill Zwicker
Director of International Programs
Associate Professor of History